10-Minute Spicy Noodles for One (Or a Crowd)

IMG_1673My name is Joost and I am recovering cookbookaholic (I do still like a drink, though). I say recovering because I have become more selective (or plain picky) over the years. Obviously cutting out meat has limited the number of books I would be interested in, but I think following my instincts and the advice of knowledgeable foodie friends has helped me separate the wheat from the chaff. Or my kind of wheat from my kind of chaff, anyway. IMG_1678

As much as I may have been tempted by pretty covers, blurps and advertising in the past, I’ve never understood the attraction of books that promise brilliant meals in 15, 20, 30 or any number of minutes. Not because I don’t believe it can be done (although in some cases I think you’d need a professional crew doing most of the prepping for you) but mostly because I am a slow cook by nature. People who know me well have learned to add at least 15 to 20 minutes to whatever estimated time of arrival I give on my meals.

So why 10-minute noodles? Well, because even I can actually cook this dish within that time and because there aren’t many easier ways to rustle up a tasty meal when you don’t really feel like cooking. The fact that this dish is made with my favourite chilli sauce, Sriracha, is another bonus. It’s a perfect dish for one, so I am giving you the measurements for a solo eater here. Of course you can easily double, triple, etc. it. IMG_1756

This recipe is a three-stage rocket, and about as fast as one. You boil noodles, prep your veg and make the sauce, that’s it. Well, you have to mix it all together but that’s hardly an effort.

This is my take on a recipe from Vegetarian Living magazine, by the way. The cooking method is exactly the same but I did make a few changes to the sauce.


 

IMG_1679Ingredients

125 g dried noodles of your choice

Sauce
2 tbsp soy sauce
dash of sesame oil
1 tbsp ginger syrup
1 tsp Sriracha sauce (or other chilli sauce)
1 tsp rice vinegar (or to taste)
small clove of garlic, or half of 1 larger one, grated
small piece of ginger, peeled and grated

Vegetables
1 small carrot (about 80-90 g unpeeled weight), peeled and roughly grated
2 small spring onions, sliced finely

1 tbsp chopped coriander (optional)

PreparationIMG_1754

– Cook the noodles according to packet instructions
– Meanwhile, whisk all the sauce ingredients together and prepare the vegetables
– Drain the noodles and tip into a bowl, add sauce and vegetables and toss.
– Sprinkle over the coriander and serve.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “10-Minute Spicy Noodles for One (Or a Crowd)

Leave a Reply

