Quinoa and Vegetable Burgers

IMG_3379The quest for the perfect vegetarian burger continues. So far, I’ve made bean and tofu burgers, so I felt it was time to move on to another type of patty, the grain-based burger. These quinoa and vegetable burgers are based on a grain cakes recipe I found in this article. I’ve fiddled with the amounts a bit because I didn’t want to use half an egg yet only needed half a batch. I also added some wheat gluten flour to make sure the cakes would hold together, and I was very happy with the result.

IMG_3377

I love the texture of these burgers. The quinoa crisps up nicely on the outside and the cheese gives them a soft (but not squidgy) inside. I do recommend frying these on the day you make them, because the ones I fried the day after fell apart in the pan, something that always annoys me about vegetable burgers.  You can use almost any (left-over) vegetables you like in these, provided you cut them very small or grate them. You could add dried herbs or spices but I didn’t feel these needed that. I did fry the burgers in garlic oil.


IMG_3373Ingredients
1/2 cup/80 g quinoa, cooked according to packet instructions and chilled
100-120 g vegetables of your choices, chopped finely (I used a red pepper and spring onions here)
handful chopped coriander
1 egg, beaten
100 g grated or finely chopped cheese (I used Gouda)
6 tbsp of finely ground oats (I blitzed some rolled oats in a food processor)
2-3 tbs wheat gluten/gluten flour
dried spices or herbs (optional, I didn’t use any in these)
(garlic) oil

Preparation
– Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and try to form smallish burgers/patties. If the mixture is too wet, add some more wheat gluten.
– Form patties, lay them on a lined baking tray and put them in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
– Fry the burgers in batches in a thin layer of oil until golden and crisp on both sides.
– Drain on kitchen towel and serve.

Leave a Reply

