Michelle’s Gorgeous Curried Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Salad

20140604-195007-71407636.jpgSometimes you come across a recipe that just speaks to you straight away. This happened to me recently when I was browsing a blog that was new to me: Michelle Nash’s The Complete Savorist http://www.thecompletesavorist.com/. She posted a recipe for a Curried Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Salad that I wanted to make as soon as I saw it. I liked the idea of roast cauli and roast potatoes as the basis of a potato salad. I usually boil my potatoes when making a potato salad, but I don’t think I’ll go back to that method after cooking it this way.
20140604-195005-71405529.jpg

After making the dairy-free potato salad ‘tartare’ from Veg Everyday (a book I would recommend to anyone interested in vegetarian cooking), I wasn’t really looking for one made with yoghurt or mayo. But the addition of curry powder, which reminded me a bit of egg salad (for better or for worse), made me want to try it. And it really worked.

20140604-195006-71406237.jpg

I was originally going to fry a veggie burger with this salad, but as it is quite substantial and the eggs provide protein, I decided it could stand on its own as a main. And it did, a lovely main I will definitely be making again. This salad would also make a perfect side dish for a barbecue. I made a few changes, some to suit my own preferences and some because I either had something that needed using up or because ingredients weren’t available over here.

20140604-195006-71406931.jpg

You can find Michelle’s recipe here: http://www.thecompletesavorist.com/cooking-blog/curried-roasted-cauliflower-and-potato-salad
Seeing as I bought a bag of garlic salt at a fair last weekend, I decided to use that instead of garlic granules, which I can’t get over here. We do have garlic powder, which I suppose is the same thing, only more finely ground.

20140604-204603-74763184.jpg

The garlic salt I bought. I really liked it. Shouldn’t be difficult to make yourself. I would mix garlic powder with fine sea salt and add some ground pepper, paprika and thyme. There is also sugar in it, but I don’t really see the point of that, to be honest. And another recipe is born. 😉

 

I couldn’t find dill pickle relish so I added some chopped gherkins, also to add a bit of sour to the balance of flavours, and subbed the pinch of sugar with a splash of maple syrup. I had half a bag of new potatoes left, so I used them instead of larger potatoes. The added bonus is that all you have to do is scrub them and chop the larger ones in half. I baked the caulifower and potatoes on separate trays because I wasn’t sure if they would both be done in thirty minutes, but everything was cooked to perfection when I took it out of the oven. Just to be on the safe side, I would advice you to use two trays (oven allowing), so you could leave the potatoes in a bit longer, if necessary.

When it comes to sauces I am a bit of a minimalist; I like a really light coating. I used 350 g of Greek yoghurt and 70 g of mayonnaise but will go down to 200 and 50 next time. I have given those measurements in my take on the recipe, below.

Which only leaves me to thank you for your recipe, Michelle. I love it and it will be a regular at ours this summer.


Ingredients

½ head of cauliflower, cut into small florets

500 g new potatoes, scrubbed, larger ones halved

olive oil

garlic salt, or garlic powder, fine sea salt and pepper (I used 1 tsp in total)

2 stalks celery, finely chopped

3 smallish gherkins, finely chopped

3 tbsp chives, finely chopped

4 hard-boiled eggs, sliced in wedges

salt and pepper

⅓ tsp paprika

200 g Greek yoghurt

50 g mayonnaise

dash of maple syrup of pinch of sugar (optional)

1 heaped tsp curry powder

 

Preparation

– Preheat the oven to 190°C. Put the cauliflower and potatoes in a bowl and add garlic salt (or garlic powder and salt), pepper and olive oil. Mix, making sure everything is coated. Pour them out onto a baking sheet in a single layer.

– Using the same bowl, add the potatoes, garlic salt, pepper, and olive oil. Mix, making sure all the potatoes are coated.  Spread them out on a separate baking sheet.

– Bake the cauli and potatoes for 15 minutes, then turn both and bake another 15 minutes. Leave to cool.

– Mix the potatoes, celery, and gherkins in a large salad bowl (or plate).

– Beat the Greek yoghurt, mayonnaise, maple syrup, paprika and curry powder together in a separate bowl. Pour this over the potato mixture and toss. Season to taste.

– Add the cauliflower and mix gently.

– Sprinkle the chives over the salad and top with the eggs.

11 thoughts on “Michelle’s Gorgeous Curried Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Curried Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Salad

  2. Pingback: Curried Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Salad

Leave a comment